strawberry mint infused water

So strawberries are in season.  And my herbs are growing out of control.  I’d like to think I will never run out of ways to use strawberries – a few of our favorites this year have been these tartines and this oatmeal.  And this list does not include the many delicious strawberry recipes I have bookmarked to try (pizza!  biscuits!  cupcakes!).

But, seeing as my new job doesn’t leave much time for making homemade pizza dough, picking my own strawberries, or sifting, mixing and pureeing all for one recipe on any kind of a regular basis, I opted to use up our strawberries this past week by making strawberry and mint-infused water.  I’ve always done this with lemons and seen it done plenty of times with other citrus fruits, but not until our fabulous weekend at this amazing place did I think to use strawberries.

And just to make this story complete, the reason we were at this amazing place drinking this amazingly refreshing strawberry-infused water every time we went in and out of the hotel lobby is because we stayed there for the weekend of our wedding.  And now I will always be able to reproduce a little taste of the weekend that I will always remember as being so incredibly unforgettable.  Love (so much) for all of it.

strawberry mint infused water
Printer-Friendly Version

The measurements here are approximate.  When I originally made this I combined ice, strawberries and mint in a 2.5-quart pitcher then just filled it to the top with filtered water.  As we drank more and more I just kept filling it up with more ice and more water.  The ice water keeps everything very cold so this lasted a few days.

8-10 large strawberries
1/4 cup mint leaves
2 cups ice
6 cups filtered water

1.  Clean and hull the strawberries, cut into halves or quarters, depending on your preference and the size of the strawberries.

2.  Fill the bottom of a pitcher with the ice cubes.  Top with strawberries and mint leaves.  Fill the rest of the way with filtered water.

3.  Place the pitcher in the refrigerator for at least an hour for the flavor to infuse.

source: Anna Maria original, inspired by Kohler

2 thoughts on “strawberry mint infused water

  1. Pingback: Strawberries and Herbs - The Garden Larder

  2. I made this last night and had some just now, for the first time. WOW! It’s really good! Thank you for this wonderful healthy recipe.

Leave a comment