baked oatmeal

I was recently gifted Heidi Swanson’s Super Natural Every Day and let me tell you, folks, this book is quickly becoming a go-to in my kitchen.  The photography is lovely, the narrative is charming and the recipes – at least the few I’ve tried so far – are delicious.

I have made this oatmeal a number of times, first spying it on 101cookbooks over a year ago.  We made it so many times last summer and loved it – and then, for some reason, forgot about it for awhile.  It only took paging through Heidi’s book to remind me of how much we enjoyed this.

I’m an oatmeal lover to begin with so I typically enjoy oatmeal of any variety.  However, I must say, this is my favorite.  It is so delicious, so adaptable, reheats well and is absolutely delicious when topped with a dollop of greek yogurt and drizzle of honey.

baked oatmeal
Printer-Friendly Version

As I said above, this recipe is adaptable.  You can use any kind of nuts or leave them out altogether.  Any fruit combo works well.  I love bananas so tend to use them frequently but I’ve done peaches and blueberries before and that was delicious, as well.  Use what you have on hand, mix it up and let me know what delicious combos you come up with!

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup walnut pieces, toasted
1/3 cup maple syrup (optional)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
scant 1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cups milk
1 large egg
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted and cooled
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 ripe bananas, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
1 1/2 cups berries

1.  Preheat the oven to 375 with a rack in the top third of the oven.  Generously butter the inside of an 8-inch square baking dish (I use a gratin dish that is about 2-quarts).

2.  In a bowl, mix together the oats, half the walnuts, the baking powder, cinnamon and salt.

3.  In another bowl, whisk together the maple syrup (if using), milk, egg, half of the butter, and the vanilla.

4.  Arrange the bananas in a single layer in the bottom of the prepared baking dish.  Sprinkle two-thirds of the berries over the top.  Cover the fruit with the oat mixture.  Slowly drizzle the milk mixture over the oats.  Gently give the baking dish a couple thwacks on the countertop to make sure the milk moves through the oats.  Scatter the remaining berries and remaining walnuts across the top.

5.  Bake for 35-45 minutes, until the top is nicely golden and the oat mixture has set.  Remove from the oven and let cool for a few minutes.  Drizzle the remaining melted butter on the top and serve.  Sprinkle with a bit of sugar or maple syrup or honey if you want it a bit sweeter.

SourceSuper Natural Every Day by Heidi Swanson (with special thanks to my – now official – Aunt Nancy 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

