orange cream smoothie

IMG_6836

If you’ve been around here for a little while, you may know that I love checking out cookbooks from the library.  And if you’ve been around the Midwest recently, you know that the heat has been just shy of oppressive.  I’m not a regular smoothie drinker, but after returning from a sweltering run one afternoon last weekend, a smoothie was the only reasonable option for a snack.  And let me tell you, it hit the spot. If you can’t bring yourself to cook in this heat, don’t.  Just blend.

IMG_6837

orange cream smoothie

yield: 2 large or 4 small servings

recipe notes: While I’ve only ever enjoyed a smoothie right after blending, I’ve read about a couple ways they can be frozen & taken for a snack at work.  I really like the idea of using a freezer pop mold to pack a smoothie with lunch, or freezing a batch of smoothies in mason jars & defrosting overnight in the fridge for a quick breakfast.

2 cups orange juice
1 cup Greek yogurt
1 cup ice
1 frozen banana

1.  Combine all ingredients in a blender & blend until smooth.

source: How to Cook Everything The Basics by Mark Bittman

Leave a comment