homemade vegetable stock

IMG_6937

I know Pumpkin Spice is all the rage this time of year, and please don’t get me wrong, I love my Pumpkin Spice.  But you know what I really love about fall?  Soup.  I can go months and months without soup and then as soon as the air gets crisp and the leaves start to change, all I want is soup for dinner.  And what better way is there to start homemade soup than with homemade stock?  It’s simple, it’s easy and – if you make it yourself – it’s always gluten-free.  Grab some veggies and get simmering.  Fall is happening.

homemade vegetable stock
yield: about 4-5 quarts

recipe notes:  I mentioned this when I posted about chicken stock, but it’s worth saying again: stock freezes remarkably well.  I typically use left-over yogurt containers and mason jars now because my freezer is a bit different from when I used to do the ziploc bag method.  Plus, with containers, I like how I can use different sizes and then only defrost however much I think I’ll need for the recipe.  I like to have a variety of amounts frozen from 1/2 cup to 1 quart.

2 large onions, coarsely chopped
2 stalks celery, coarsely chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 bunch scallions, chopped fine
15 cloves garlic, peeled and smashed
1 tsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
5-6 quarts water
1 head cauliflower, cored and cut into chunks
1 tomato, chopped
8 sprigs fresh thyme
3 bay leaves
1 tsp. black peppercorns

1.  Add the onions, celery, scallions, garlic, oil and salt to a large Dutch oven or stock pot and stir together.  Cover and cook over medium-low heat, stirring often, until the pan bottom begins to brown lightly, 20-30 minutes.

2.  Add in the water, cauliflower, tomato, thyme, bay leaves and peppercorn.  Partially cover, bring to a gentle simmer (not boil) and cook for about 90 minutes, adjusting the heat as needed to maintain a gentle simmer.

3.  Strain the broth through a fine mesh strainer into a pitcher and pour into storage containers.  Use within 3 days if storing in the fridge or freeze until ready to use.

source: annie’s eats

 

One thought on “homemade vegetable stock

Leave a Reply

