heirloom tomato salad

IMG_7010

As part of our balcony garden this year we planted an heirloom tomato plant.  It grew fast, tall and wide, filling a corner of our balcony with beautiful green leaves.  We got a few flowers and then slowly, but surely, a few tomatoes.  Some fell victim to blossom end rot (ick) but a few didn’t.  We picked them and they sat on the counter for a day because I couldn’t decide what I wanted to do with them.  Enter this salad.  Beautiful and simple and amazingly, deliciously summer.

heirloom tomato salad
recipe notes:  Because there are only a few ingredients in this salad, it is important that they are the best you can get.  In the past, I’ve not thought much about buying really good balsamic vinegar or really good olive oil but I’ve converted and this salad makes me grateful that I have.  If you’re in the Chicago area, Oh, Olive! is a fabulous source for oil & vinegar.  I used the 18 year aged balsamic for this salad (only a few drops) and wow, was it good.  When I made this salad, I just made it for me so one tomato was good.  If you’re making for a bigger group, just buy more tomatoes 🙂 I imagine it would be a delicious first course for a laid back end-of-summer dinner al fresco.

heirloom tomato(es)
balsamic vinegar
olive oil
fresh basil leaves
salt & fresh-cracked pepper, to taste

1.  Slice the tomatoes (use a serrated knife for this).  Lay on a plate or platter, drizzle with a tiny bit of balsamic vinegar, a little bit of olive oil & salt and pepper.

2.  Chiffonade the basil & sprinkle it atop of the salad.

source: inspired by heirloom tomato & chickpea salad via a house in the hills

Leave a Reply

