hosting easter brunch

IMG_5912

A few weekends ago, I was lucky enough to host brunch for a few of my family members on Easter Sunday.  I love the idea of a dinner party, but hosting brunch has to be one of my very favorite things to do.  Usually when we host brunch, it’s a last minute thing.  But this time, since it was a holiday and there were out of town guests, I made it a little more special.

IMG_5899

I have no doubt that the five of us could have easily found an appropriate place to sit, but because I’m me, these placecards needed to happen.  I simply cut small squares out of cardstock, folded them in half and wrote each person’s name on them in fancy cursive with a fancy pen.

IMG_2095

The menu was pretty simple – mostly low maintenance things I could either prepare ahead or took little preparation the day of.  Plus, I had some help from guests.  All together, it took about an hour to get everything to the table.  We enjoyed:

– Fruit Salad/Granola/Yogurt Parfaits
– Asparagus & Gruyère Frittata
– Home Fries
– Bacon
– Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Scones

All the fruit for the fruit salad was prepped the day before.  About an hour before everyone arrived, I mixed all the fruit together and sprinkled a little sugar/mint mixture over the top and left it.  The yogurt was simple plain vanilla yogurt.  The granola was made earlier in the week.  The frittata ingredients were prepped earlier in the morning. The potatoes were cut up by mom (thanks!).  They were the earliest thing I started actual cooking (about 45 minutes beforehand) but since there’s a lot of hands-off time, I was able to get do everything else at the same time.  The bacon was baked in the oven (see link, but be sure to line your pan with aluminum foil for much easier clean up!).  The scones were made the previous weekend, frozen and baked earlier in the morning before the bacon went in.

DSCN0226

But of course, while the food was all good, the company was the most enjoyable part.  Thanks to all for joining our little Easter brunch 🙂

photo-12

how to host brunch, elsewhere:
how to host brunch (and still sleep in) by smitten kitchen
A Book Club Brunch Party from thekitchn
Easter Brunch Ideas on everyday occasions by Jenny Steffens Hobick

Leave a Reply

