zucchini cakes

The funny thing about having this amateur little food blog is that a lot of what I make on a regular basis doesn’t end up being posted, or at least right away.  I’m still learning how to take pictures well so I’ll put off posting until I get good pictures.  I love the challenge of learning photography but I hate the fact that some of my most favorite things don’t end up getting shared.  Enter zucchini cakes.

I have had this recipe for over 10 years – since I was a senior in high school and this wonderful woman I used to nanny for in the summers passed it down to me.  She was an amazing cook and the four recipes I have from her are still some of my absolute favorites – repeats that I make time and again – and none of which have made it onto the blog yet.

This past Thursday after I came home from work, my neighbor knocked on my door with a bowl of his newly picked fresh cherry tomatoes.  I hadn’t given thought to what I would make for dinner that night but as soon as I saw the tomatoes I knew I had to include them.  I opened the fridge to find one lonely little zucchini and immediately knew zucchini cakes were it.

Did I tell you yet how much I love this recipe?  It is SO simple, almost everything you need it a pantry staple, and they are oh-so-delicious.  Topped with freshly picked cherry tomatoes?  A light summer dinner couldn’t get any better.

Thank you, Caroline, for the recipe.  Thank you, Billy, for the tomatoes.  And thank you, Michelle, for the motivation to share this recipe as soon as possible.  Happy zucchini season, friends.

zucchini cakes
Printer-Friendly Version
yield: about 8 zucchini cakes

2 C. zucchini, grated (this equals about 1 zucchini for me)
2 large eggs
1 tsp garlic, minced
1/2 C. flour
1 C. parmesan cheese, grated
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. oregano
1/4 tsp. white pepper
olive oil
sour cream
tomatoes, diced

1.  Preheat the oven to warm.

2.  In medium bowl, combine zucchini and eggs.  In a separate bowl, combine flour, cheese, salt, oregano, white pepper and garlic.  Blend dry ingredients into zucchini mixture.  Mix well.

3.  Lightly oil a large, heavy skillet and place over medium-high heat.

4.  Drop mixture in my heaping tablespoons (I do about a 1/4 cup).  Cook until brown on both sides (about 2 min per side).

5.  Keep warm in oven until all are done.  Serve warm with a dollop of sour cream and a generous heap of diced tomatoes.  Top with fresh ground black pepper, if you wish.

Source:  Caroline S.

3 thoughts on “zucchini cakes

  1. Pingback: zucchini bread « Recipes Remembered

Leave a Reply

