Egg and Cheese Sandwich

An egg sandwich is never something you’ll find me putting on a menu plan.  It’s something I make when there isn’t anything left in the fridge.  It’s certainly not gourmet (although it can be) and up until now it was more of a last-ditch effort for dinner rather than something I really looked forward to eating.

That is, until I read Deb’s post.  Since I first read it last week I’ve had three of these sandwiches.  The first one I made was out of desperation – I had nothing else to make for dinner.  The second one was for lunch and to take pretty pictures for you.  The third one I made for breakfast after an early morning 6 mile run.  Each time it was delicious and satisfying.

In addition to pasta, I think cooking a good egg (in a variety of ways) should be in every person’s repertoire and this method is one of my new favorites.  The technique of melting cheese right into the middle of the eggs is pure genius.  The result is a super quick, super simple and super delicious Egg and Cheese Sandwich that you’ll want to make again and again.

Egg and Cheese Sandwich
Printer-Friendly Version

Deb makes her sandwiches with either one or two whole eggs.  I chose to make mine with one whole egg + 1 egg white.  You could also do only egg whites.  If using only 1 egg, use 1/2 teaspoon water or milk.  If using 2 eggs, use 1 teaspoon.  Written below is how I made my sandwich – you can substitute any kind of bread (an English muffin, a biscuit, a bagel) and any kind of cheese (white cheddar, Gruyere, Swiss) and add any topping you’d like (sauteed mushrooms, chives, salsa).

2 slices of bread
1-2 teaspoons butter
1 egg + 1 egg white
1 teaspoon milk (or water)
salt + pepper, to taste
cheese (sliced thin, grated, or right out of the plastic wrapper)
toppings, if you wish

1. Toast the bread.  Heat a 9-inch skillet over medium heat.

2. Beat the eggs in a small cup with the milk and a few pinches of salt and couple grinds of black pepper.

3. Melt butter in the pan to coat it.  Pour the eggs into the pan to cover it, as a thin crepe would.

4. Immediately plop the cheese onto the middle of the egg.  Toss any toppings onto the cheese.

5. Cook the egg for 1 1/2 – 2 minutes or until the egg is firm and you are able to lift the side without any loose egg slipping through.

6. Fold the part of the egg closet to you over the cheese.  Repeat this on three sides, forming a kind of envelope around the cheese.  Leave the folded egg in the skillet to cook for about 30 more seconds.  Then, slide it onto your toast, folding the last side over the cheese.  Top with the other half of toast.  Enjoy. 

Source: Smitten Kitchen via A Cup of Jo

5 thoughts on “Egg and Cheese Sandwich

  1. Hi Maria,

    I stumbled across your blog the other day, and I really like it! I hope all is well with you! I just wanted to tell you that I love egg and cheese sandwiches and I tried this one today and it was awesome!

    -Katie

    • Hi Katie!

      I’m so happy to see you on the blog. And I’m so happy to hear the sandwich turned out for you – it is definitely a winner 🙂 I hope California is treating you well. Perhaps I will see you in Indy sometime?

      • Hi Maria,

        I think you have the wrong Katie, this is your old roommate from South Bend 🙂 Remember the good times we had there 🙂 I hope med school is treating you well!

        -Katie T.

      • Katie! Sorry about that! 🙂 My roommate in college was also named Katie and I thought it was her. Medschool is ALMOST over…very exciting. How is grad school?! Maybe I’ll post those Kale chips sometime soon – haha 😉

Leave a Reply

