Vegetable Barley Soup

It’s been a weird fall.  It started out warm, got colder, then warmer.  There were snow flurries one day.  And now it’s just rainy.  And the whole time, since before Halloween, Macy’s has had their holiday decorations up, which just makes things confusing.  Especially for my menu planning.  (Which, admittedly, hasn’t really happened at all this fall anyway.)

So, I’ve been holding out.  Through September and October I waited for that perfect day that begs for this soup to be made.  Finally, finally it has come.  It was worth the wait.

If I had to choose a soup that is my all-time favorite to make, this would be the winner.  First, it’s easy.  Unbelievably, makes-you-think-you-missed-a-step, just plain easy.  You put everything in a pot and it simmers.  That’s it.  Ninety minutes later (yes, it takes awhile, but you don’t need to do anything in those 90 minutes except just let.it.be) you will have the most delicious, hearty, warm-you-from-the-inside-out vegetable soup you have ever had.  Promise.

Vegetable Barley Soup
Printer-Friendly Version

Yield: 8 servings (about)

2 quarts vegetable stock (or chicken stock)
1 cup uncooked barley
2 large carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
1 can (14.5 oz) diced tomatoes with juice
1 can (15 oz) garbanzo beans, drained
1 onion, chopped
3 bay leaves
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon white sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1 teaspoon dried parsley
1 teaspoon dried curry powder
1 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

1.  Add the barley, carrots, celery, tomatoes, garbanzo beans, onion, and bay leaves to a large pot. Pour vegetable (or chicken) broth over vegetables.  Season with garlic powder, sugar, salt, pepper, parsley, curry powder, paprika, and Worcestershire sauce. Bring to a boil, then cover and simmer over medium-low heat for 90 minutes. The soup will be very thick. You may adjust by adding more broth or less barley if desired. Remove bay leaves before serving.

Source: Allrecipes

7 thoughts on “Vegetable Barley Soup

  1. Pingback: Soft Frosted Sugar Cookies « Recipes Remembered

  2. Pingback: Whole Wheat Molasses Bread « Recipes Remembered

  3. I work with Trent and he told me about your blog so I decided to check it out! You have some great recipes and pictures on here! I absolutely love vegetable barley soup, so I decided to make it last night, and it turned out wonderfully. Since I was also cooking for my boyfriend, I decided to throw in some rotisserie chicken and a potato. He thought the flavor was great and so did I. I will definitely make this again. The only thing I will probably do differently is add another quart of chicken broth and 1/2 teaspoon of the dry ingredients, because most of the broth was absorbed this morning. Thanks for sharing your recipes!

    • Hi Melissa!

      I’m so glad you liked the soup! I LOVE the idea of adding chicken. I will try that next time I make it 🙂 The soup can definitely get thick – especially since the barley absorbs so much – adding more broth is great idea. If you make the soup again, I’d recommend pairing it with the Whole Wheat Molasses Bread I posted today. Yum 🙂

      Thanks for your comment!

      Maria

  4. Pingback: Away Rotation « Recipes Remembered

  5. Pingback: where i’ve been « Recipes Remembered

  6. Pingback: roasted curried chickpeas with rosemary « Recipes Remembered

Leave a Reply

