Chocolate Chip Cookies

We’ve been having many visitors recently and while that’s usually a fun opportunity to try something new or different, I’ve found that it’s hard to beat a classic chocolate chip cookie.  It wasn’t until I went to make them that I realized I didn’t have a go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I’m sure that my grandmother had one but it isn’t in her blue-bound book.  So, I went to my next-best source for the original of anything: Betty Crocker.  I know, I know.  There are probably better sources for chocolate chip cookie recipes.  After all, there are newspaper articles about these things.  I didn’t want anything fancy like espresso powder or pretzels mixed in (though it sounds delicious and I’m sure I’ll try their recipe someday).  I just wanted a good old-fashioned chocolate chip cookie.

Betty delivered.  These are classic – in method, taste and texture.  Cream together butter and two types of sugar.  Add eggs and vanilla, then your dry ingredients (flour, baking soda, salt).  Finally, mix in the chips – and nuts.  Bake until golden.  Cool on a wire rack.  Pour a glass of milk (or two, or three).  Gather friends.  Enjoy crispy exterior, chewy interior, chocolate-in-every-bite classically delicious chocolate chip cookies.

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Printer-Friendly Version
Yield: 4 dozen (ish)

As with make cookies I make, I flash-freezze about half the dough after shaping it into the individual balls.  I bake them straight from the freezer, just add a minute or two to the overall baking time.  This comes in handy when you have unexpected guests or when your guests finish the cookies and you want one just for yourself the next day.

3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 egg, preferably at room temperature
2 1/4 cups All-Purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup coarsely chopped nuts (I used pecans)
12 oz. semisweet chocolate chips

1.  Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2.  With a mixer on medium, cream together butter and sugars.  Blend in egg and vanilla.  In a separate bowl whisk together flour, baking soda and salt.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients.  The dough will be stiff.  Mix in the nuts and chocolate chips.

3.  Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls about 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Alternatively, get fancy and use a dough scoop.

4.  Bake 8-10 minutes or until light brown (centers will be soft).  Cool slightly; remove from cookie sheet.  Cool on wire rack.

Source:  Betty Crocker’s Cookbook

Leave a Reply

