Mixed Berry Smoothie

I love visiting Chicago because, whenever I do, someone cooks for me.  As far as kitchen styles go my fiance, Jon, and I are quite different.  He never follows recipes.  I almost always do.  He doesn’t measure things.  I am meticulous about measuring things.  He wants to make a cooking show that features just him and three kitchen tools.  I have so many kitchen tools on my Amazon wish list I will never be able to have for lack of storage space.

So last weekend when I visited, as I busied myself measuring out the 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon that goes into our favorite granola, he was busy on the other end of the counter throwing ingredients into a blender to make this smoothie.  The granola was, as always, delicious.  The smoothie – amazing.  Alongside granola and yogurt, it was the perfect mid-morning snack after returning home from watching the Chicago Marathon that morning.

Now, if you run like these guys do, you may need to quadruple the recipe to satisfy your hunger.  They’re pretty incredible, huh?

Mixed Berry Smoothie
Printer-Friendly Version

Servings: 1 large, 2 small smoothies

Ingredients*

2 cups frozen mixed berries
1 cup orange juice
1/2 cup Greek Yogurt
1/4 cup raw Old-fashioned Oats, optional

Directions

Combine all ingredients in blender.  Blend until smooth.  Pour into glasses.  Serve immediately.

Source: Jon original

*These measurements are the best I could do after watching Jon toss everything in the blender.  I promise next time I will pay closer attention (or convince him to measure something) to give you more exact measurements.

2 thoughts on “Mixed Berry Smoothie

Leave a Reply

