Mixed Green Salad with Cranberries, Walnuts & Blue Cheese

It’s been another one of those busy weeks.  I didn’t menu plan and I didn’t do any grocery shopping over the weekend.  So tonight, on my way home from the hospital, realizing that I had next to nothing in my refrigerator, I stopped at the grocery (always a dangerous thing to do when you’re hungry).  Luckily, there are a few recipes that are my on my “go-to” list which require minimal ingredients and are always delicious.  This salad is one of them.  It is sweet and salty, fresh and light and oh-so-delicious.  Add it to your “go-to” list – you won’t regret it.

Mixed Green Salad with Cranberries, Walnuts & Blue Cheese
Printer-Friendly Version

Servings: 1*

Ingredients

For the salad:
Mixed Greens, rinsed
Dried Cranberries
Blue Cheese
Walnuts

For the dressing:
1 T Balsamic Vinegar
2 T Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper, to taste

Directions:

To prepare the salad: Mix together greens, cranberries, blue cheese & walnuts.

To prepare the vinaigrette:  Whisk together balsamic vinegar, olive oil in a liquid measuring cup.  Add a pinch of salt & pepper, to your taste.

Pour vinaigrette over salad, toss to coat.  Serve immediately.

Source:  Anna Maria Original

*Obviously this salad can be made for more than one.  Just adjust the amount of ingredients to your liking.  For the dressing, I like to keep my vinegar:oil ratio around 1:2 but many recipes will recommend a 1:3 ratio.  If you’re making a salad for more people just adjust the dressing accordingly.  It’s hard to go wrong with olive oil and balsamic vinegar :)

2 thoughts on “Mixed Green Salad with Cranberries, Walnuts & Blue Cheese

  1. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my
    comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyway, just wanted to say great blog!

Leave a Reply

