Cranberry and Wild Blueberry Pie

This past Wednesday marked the first official day of fall and I couldn’t be happier about it.  Fall leaves, sweaters, pumpkin flavored coffee beverages and perfect running weather are just a few of the reasons that I love this season.  Sharing a fall birthday with my fiance doesn’t hurt, either.  Though fall is my favorite, one thing that I will miss about summer (in addition to swimming laps outside) is the abundance of fresh berries.  This past weekend my fiance and I were invited to a bbq for which I offered to bring dessert.  I hoped to make his mother’s famous blueberry pie, but (not surprisingly) blueberries have suddenly become quite expensive.  And since her recipe calls for 2 quarts (2 quarts!) of blueberries, I opted for this more economically friendly pie which calls for frozen blueberries.  Though I was a little sad to not be able to make the blueberry pie, I was more than happy to share this delicious fall-themed berry pie with friends, and it turns out they were more than happy to eat it.

I love the use of cinnamon sticks in the filling for this pie and the nutmeg dusted on top (which I conveniently forgot to add this time I made it).  They are a lovely, warm addition to the standard sugar/lemon juice/berry pie filling and I may even serve this pie with cinnamon ice cream next time I make it.  Or homemade cinnamon whipped cream.  Yum.  At first I thought the blueberries would seem out of place in this very fall pie but I was wrong.  Nestled amongst cranberries, flavored with cinnamon, wrapped in flaky pie crust and dusted with nutmeg, they bridge a perfect gap between the sweet days of summer and chilly days of fall.

The only thing about this pie that wasn’t delicious was the crust which, I’m sure, has nothing to do with the recipe and everything to do with me over-mixing the dough.  I attempted to follow smitten kitchen’s recipe but went wrong somewhere along the way and ended up with a rather tough crust.  No one seemed to mind too much but that doesn’t mean I won’t attempt to greatly improve my pie crust.  Thankfully there are an abundance of delicious filling options for fall pies ( including blueberry!) that I will be more than happy to add to my repertoire over the next few months.

Cranberry and Wild Blueberry Pie

yield: 8 servings

Ingredients

for the filling:

16 oz. frozen organic wild blueberries (do not thaw)
12 oz. fresh or frozen cranberries (do not thaw)
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 T cornstarch
2 cinnamon sticks
1 T fresh lemon juice
1/2 tsp. finely grated lemon zest

for the crust:

2 pie crust dough disks
heavy whipping cream
nutmeg (for sprinkling)

Directions

For filling: Combine all ingredients in large saucepan. Cook over medium heat until mixture thickens and begins to boil, stirring occasionally, 12 to 14 minutes. Continue to boil 2 minutes, stirring constantly. Transfer berry mixture to glass or ceramic dish; cool completely (mixture will thicken). DO AHEAD: Can be made 3 days ahead. Cover; chill.

For crust: Position rack in center of oven; preheat to 400°F. Roll out 1 dough disk on floured surface to 12-inch round. Transfer crust to 9-inch-diameter glass pie dish; trim dough overhang to 1 inch. Remove cinnamon sticks from filling; spoon into crust. Roll out second dough disk to 13×10- inch rectangle. Cut dough lengthwise into 3/4-inch-wide strips (11 to 12 strips).

Arrange half of dough strips across top of filling, spacing evenly apart. Form lattice by arranging remaining dough strips at right angle to first dough strips and weaving strips, if desired. Trim off excess dough from strips. Brush edges of bottom crust lightly with whipping cream. Press dough strip ends to adhere to bottom crust edges. Fold edges of bottom crust up over strips, pinching to seal. Crimp edges decoratively. Brush edges and lattice lightly with cream. Sprinkle lattice strips lightly with nutmeg. Place pie on rimmed baking sheet and bake until crust is golden and filling is bubbling thickly, about 1 hour 10 minutes. Cool pie on rack. DO AHEAD: Can be made 8 hours ahead. Let stand at room temperature.

Serve pie at room temperature.

Source: Bon Appétit Magazine, November 2010

3 thoughts on “Cranberry and Wild Blueberry Pie

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving! |

Leave a Reply

